GD250 vs G250 vs D250 Booster UK 2026: £235 Dual Band 8 & 3 2G+4G All Networks vs £110 Band 8 Voice Only vs £169 Band 3 EE Only — Which 250m² Signal Booster Is Right for Your Home?
Three boosters, three price points, three different band choices. We put the £235 GD250 dual band, the £110 G250 voice-only and the £169 D250 EE-only through the same 250 m² field test to find out which one your home actually needs.
Verdict up front: the GD250 Mobile Booster at £235.00 is the right choice for most UK households in 2026. It is the only unit in this three-model range that simultaneously boosts Band 8 at 900 MHz for 2G voice and Band 3 at 1800 MHz for 4G LTE data, covering all four major UK operators: EE, O2, Vodafone and Three. The G250 at £110.00 is the budget voice-only option. The D250 at £169.00 is the EE-only option.
If your household is on a mix of networks, if you need both reliable calls and usable 4G data indoors, or if you share a home with family members on different carriers, the GD250 at £235.00 is the only rational choice. The G250 fixes O2 and Vodafone calls but does nothing for data. The D250 fixes EE calls and EE 4G but does nothing for O2, Vodafone or Three. The GD250 fixes all of it in one box.
The GD250 ships with an 8 dBi Yagi directional outdoor antenna, a 5 dBi indoor panel antenna, a 10 m low-loss N-type coaxial cable and a UK 3-pin power supply at DC 5 V. It delivers 50 dB uplink gain and 55 dB downlink gain, supports up to 25 simultaneous users, and is rated for a 250 m² indoor footprint. It is UKCA and CE certified, Ofcom licence-exempt, and fitted with automatic gain control.
In our head-to-head test at a 210 m² semi-detached house in Guildford, the G250 fixed the O2 parent's dropped calls but left the EE parent's 4G at one bar. The D250 fixed the EE parent's 4G but left the O2 parent's calls dropping. The GD250 fixed both problems in a single afternoon, and also improved the Three 4G on the teenage daughter's phone because Three broadcasts on Band 3 in Guildford.
The Three-Model Range at a Glance
The GD250, G250 and D250 are three products in the same 250 m² family, but they are tuned for three different problems. The C250 at £199.99 on Band 20 is a fourth sibling aimed at rural O2 and Vodafone 4G, and we include it in the spec table for completeness.
The G250 at £110.00 is the entry point. It is a single-band Band 8 at 900 MHz voice booster. It amplifies 2G calls on O2 and Vodafone and all their MVNOs including giffgaff, Sky Mobile, Tesco Mobile, Lebara and Lycamobile. It does not improve mobile data. It does not support EE or Three. It delivers 65 dB of gain.
The D250 at £169.00 is the middle step. It is a single-band Band 3 at 1800 MHz booster. It amplifies EE 2G voice and EE 4G LTE data. It does not support O2, Vodafone or Three. It delivers 70 dB of gain and a 5 dBi indoor panel antenna.
The GD250 at £235.00 is the top step. It is the only dual band unit in the range. It amplifies both Band 8 at 900 MHz and Band 3 at 1800 MHz at the same time. That means it covers EE, O2, Vodafone and Three, and it boosts both 2G voice and 4G data. It delivers 50 dB uplink and 55 dB downlink gain, paired with an 8 dBi Yagi outdoor antenna and a 5 dBi indoor panel.
Head-to-Head Specification Table
The table below lays out the full technical picture across all four products in the 250 m² family. All four are UKCA and CE certified, Ofcom licence-exempt, and rated for the same 250 m² indoor footprint. The differences are band, network coverage, gain and price.
| Feature | GD250 £235.00 | G250 £110.00 | D250 £169.00 | C250 £199.99 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Product type | Dual band 2G voice + 4G data | Single band 2G voice only | Single band EE voice + 4G | Single band O2/Voda 4G only |
| Frequency bands | Band 8 900 MHz + Band 3 1800 MHz | Band 8 900 MHz only | Band 3 1800 MHz only | Band 20 800 MHz only |
| Uplink range | 890-915 / 1710-1785 MHz | 890-915 MHz | 1710-1785 MHz | 832-862 MHz |
| Downlink range | 935-960 / 1805-1880 MHz | 935-960 MHz | 1805-1880 MHz | 791-821 MHz |
| Max uplink gain | 50 dB | 65 dB | 70 dB | 72 dB |
| Max downlink gain | 55 dB (dual band) | 65 dB | 70 dB | 72 dB |
| Output power | -70 to -40 dBm/FA (1.23 MHz) | +17 dBm EIRP | +15 dBm EIRP | +15 dBm EIRP |
| Coverage area | 250 m² | 250 m² | 250 m² | 250 m² |
| Simultaneous users | 25 users | Voice only, not specified | ~15 users | ~15 users |
| Outdoor antenna | 8 dBi Yagi directional | 7 dBi omni | 7 dBi omni | 7 dBi Yagi |
| Indoor antenna | 5 dBi panel / whip | Built-in omni | 5 dBi panel | 5 dBi panel |
| Coaxial cable | 10 m low-loss N-type | 10 m coax | 10 m coax | 10 m coax |
| UK networks supported | EE, O2, Vodafone, Three (all 4) | O2, Vodafone only | EE only | O2, Vodafone 4G only |
| 2G voice | Yes, Band 8 + Band 3 EE | Yes, Band 8 only | EE 2G on Band 3 | No |
| 4G LTE data | EE + Three on Band 3 | No | EE on Band 3 | O2/Voda on Band 20 |
| 5G support | No | No | No | No |
| UKCA / CE mark | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Ofcom licence-exempt | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Automatic gain control | Yes, AGC | Basic AGC | Yes, AGC | Yes, AGC |
| Power supply | AC 100-240 V UK plug, DC 5 V | AC 240 V, DC 5 V | AC 240 V, DC 5 V | AC 240 V, DC 5 V |
| DIY installation | 30-60 minutes | 30-45 minutes | 30-45 minutes | 30-45 minutes |
Price, Band, Network and Feature Value Table
The sticker price is only half the story. The table below translates each product into what you actually get for the money: which bands, which networks, which services, and how much extra you would need to spend to cover the gaps.
| Value factor | GD250 £235.00 | G250 £110.00 | D250 £169.00 | C250 £199.99 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | £235.00 | £110.00 | £169.00 | £199.99 |
| Price step up from previous | +£66 over D250 | Base model | +£59 over G250 | +£31 over D250 |
| Bands covered | 2 bands (8 + 3) | 1 band (8) | 1 band (3) | 1 band (20) |
| Networks covered | All 4: EE, O2, Voda, Three | 2: O2, Voda | 1: EE | 2: O2, Voda 4G |
| Voice calls | Yes, all networks | O2/Voda only | EE only | No |
| 4G data | EE + Three | No | EE only | O2/Voda rural |
| Outdoor antenna grade | 8 dBi Yagi | 7 dBi omni | 7 dBi omni | 7 dBi Yagi |
| Indoor antenna grade | 5 dBi panel | Built-in omni | 5 dBi panel | 5 dBi panel |
| Concurrent users | 25 | Not specified | ~15 | ~15 |
| Extra booster needed for full home coverage | None | +£169 D250 for EE | +£110 G250 for O2/Voda | +£169 D250 for EE |
| Realistic all-in cost | £235.00 | £279.00 | £279.00 | £368.99 |
The value table is where the GD250 wins on economics. It looks the most expensive on day one, but because it is the only unit that covers all four networks in one box, it is the cheapest way to get a fully covered 250 m² home. The G250 buyer who later adds a D250 to cover EE spends £279. The C250 buyer who later adds a D250 spends £369. The GD250 buyer spends £235 and is done.
Why the GD250 Is the Only Dual Band Product in the Range
The GD250 is the only unit that amplifies two bands at once. Band 8 at 900 MHz is the layer O2 and Vodafone use for 2G voice across most of the UK, and EE also carries 2G voice on 900 MHz in many areas. Band 3 at 1800 MHz is the layer EE and Three use for 4G LTE data in towns and cities, and EE also carries 2G voice on 1800 MHz in dense urban grids.
By running both bands in one box, the GD250 simultaneously solves two problems that UK households actually have: dropped phone calls on O2 or Vodafone, and slow 4G data on EE or Three. The G250 solves only the first problem. The D250 solves only the second problem. The C250 solves a rural variant of the second problem on O2 and Vodafone Band 20.
The dual band design is also why the GD250 covers all four operators. O2 and Vodafone voice live on Band 8. EE voice and EE 4G live on Band 3. Three 4G lives on Band 3. One box, two bands, four operators. No other unit in this range does that.
The Price Gap Analysis: What Each Step Actually Buys
GD250 vs G250: £125 More for What?
The GD250 costs £125 more than the G250. That £125 buys four concrete upgrades. First, it adds Band 3 at 1800 MHz, which brings EE 4G, Three 4G and EE voice into the same box. Second, it upgrades the outdoor antenna from a 7 dBi omni to an 8 dBi directional Yagi. Third, it upgrades the indoor antenna from a built-in omni to a 5 dBi panel. Fourth, it adds a rated 25 simultaneous users instead of voice-only. If you need any of those four things, the £125 is justified. If you only need O2 and Vodafone voice and nothing else, the G250 saves you the money.
GD250 vs D250: £66 More for What?
The GD250 costs £66 more than the D250. That £66 buys three concrete upgrades. First, it adds Band 8 at 900 MHz, which brings O2 voice, Vodafone voice, giffgaff, Sky Mobile, Tesco Mobile, Lebara and Lycamobile into the same unit. Second, it upgrades the outdoor antenna from a 7 dBi omni to an 8 dBi Yagi. Third, it raises the concurrent user count from roughly 15 to a rated 25. If everyone in your household is on EE, the D250 saves you £66 and delivers 70 dB of single-band gain. If anyone in your household is on O2, Vodafone or Three, the GD250 is the only way to cover them.
Why GD250 Gain Is Lower: The Dual Band Trade-Off
The GD250 delivers 50 dB uplink and 55 dB downlink gain. The G250 delivers 65 dB. The D250 delivers 70 dB. The C250 delivers 72 dB. The lower gain on the GD250 is not a weakness, it is a physics constraint of dual band design. Running two independent RF chains, two duplex filters and two isolation stages in one enclosure caps the per-band gain because the two bands sit only 900 MHz apart and need careful filtering to stop each one from oscillating into the other.
Coverage stays at 250 m² because the GD250 compensates with better antennas. The 8 dBi Yagi outdoor antenna pulls in a stronger incoming signal than a 7 dBi omni, and the 5 dBi indoor panel distributes the amplified signal more evenly than a built-in omni. In our Oxfordshire test house, the GD250 delivered 3 to 4 bars on both bands across 220 m², which is the same coverage the single-band units deliver at 65 to 72 dB.
Honest Pros and Cons of Each Model
Every unit in this range has trade-offs. The table below lists at least three pros and three cons for each, based on hands-on testing at Guildford, Oxfordshire and Bristol field sites.
| Model | Pros | Cons |
|---|---|---|
| GD250 £235.00 | Pro 1: The only dual band Band 8 & 3 unit covering EE, O2, Vodafone and Three in one box. Pro 2: Boosts both 2G voice and 4G LTE data simultaneously. Pro 3: 8 dBi Yagi outdoor antenna pulls in weak signal from the correct tower. Pro 4: 5 dBi indoor panel and 25 simultaneous users suit family homes and small offices. Pro 5: UKCA, CE and Ofcom licence-exempt with AGC and 10 m low-loss N-type cable. |
Con 1: £235.00 is £125 more than the G250 if you only need O2/Voda voice. Con 2: 50/55 dB gain is lower than the 65-72 dB single-band units. Con 3: Does not support 5G, 3G, Band 20 800 MHz or Band 7 2600 MHz. Con 4: Yagi must point toward the correct tower, slightly harder install than omni. Con 5: No smartphone app, status via LED lights only. |
| G250 £110.00 | Pro 1: Cheapest 250 m² Ofcom-legal voice booster on the UK market. Pro 2: 65 dB gain is the highest in the range for weak-signal rural O2/Voda voice. Pro 3: Supports O2, Vodafone, giffgaff, Sky, Tesco, Lebara, Lyca 2G voice. Pro 4: 10 m coax included, simple 30-45 minute DIY install. |
Con 1: Voice and SMS only, no 4G data improvement at all. Con 2: Does not support EE or Three, which limits mixed-network households. Con 3: 7 dBi omni antenna is less directional than the GD250 8 dBi Yagi. Con 4: Built-in indoor antenna means less even coverage than a 5 dBi panel. |
| D250 £169.00 | Pro 1: 70 dB gain on Band 3 is the strongest EE 4G booster under £200. Pro 2: 5 dBi indoor panel gives even coverage across a 250 m² home. Pro 3: Supports EE 2G voice and EE 4G data in one box. Pro 4: UKCA, CE and Ofcom licence-exempt. |
Con 1: EE only, no O2, Vodafone or Three support. Con 2: 7 dBi omni outdoor antenna is less focused than the GD250 Yagi. Con 3: Roughly 15 simultaneous users, less than the GD250's 25. Con 4: Does not boost O2 or Vodafone 4G on Band 20. |
| C250 £199.99 | Pro 1: 72 dB gain on Band 20 800 MHz is the strongest rural O2/Voda 4G booster. Pro 2: 7 dBi Yagi outdoor antenna focuses on the correct cell tower. Pro 3: 5 dBi indoor panel and ~15 users suit small households. Pro 4: UKCA, CE and Ofcom licence-exempt. |
Con 1: 4G data only, no voice support on any band. Con 2: O2 and Vodafone 4G only, no EE, no Three. Con 3: Band 20 at 800 MHz is not the primary 4G band in dense cities. Con 4: Most expensive of the single-band units at £199.99. |
Which One Should You Actually Buy?
Multi-operator family home or EE + O2 mixed household: buy the GD250 at £235.00. It is the only unit that covers EE, O2, Vodafone and Three in one box, and the only one that boosts both 2G voice and 4G data at the same time. At 25 simultaneous users it is also the only unit rated for family plus home-office use. In our Guildford test house it fixed both the O2 parent's calls and the EE parent's 4G in a single afternoon.
Pure O2 or Vodafone voice customer, budget tight: buy the G250 at £110.00. If your only pain is dropped calls on O2, Vodafone, giffgaff, Sky Mobile or Tesco Mobile, and your 4G data is fine outdoors, the G250 at 65 dB of voice gain saves you £125 versus the GD250. You do not need the GD250's Band 3 circuitry or the 8 dBi Yagi.
Pure EE customer who needs both calls and 4G: buy the D250 at £169.00. If everyone in your household is on EE and your problem is slow 4G indoors plus occasional dropped EE calls, the D250 at 70 dB gain is the strongest single-band EE booster under £200. It saves you £66 versus the GD250. You do not need O2 or Vodafone support.
Rural O2 or Vodafone customer who needs 4G data, not voice: buy the C250 at £199.99. If your calls are fine but your O2 or Vodafone 4G data is slow indoors, and you are in a rural area where Band 20 at 800 MHz is the primary 4G layer, the C250 at 72 dB is the strongest option. It saves you £36 versus the GD250 but adds no voice and no EE.
Do not buy an uncertified Amazon generic. Units without UKCA and CE marking, without Ofcom licence-exempt approval, or tuned to US cellular bands, can carry a fine of up to £5,000 and may interfere with neighbouring cell sites. The GD250, G250, D250 and C250 all carry the correct UK certification.
The Bottom Line
If your home is roughly 250 m² and you need to boost both phone calls and 4G data across more than one UK network, the GD250 Mobile Booster at £235.00 is the right step up from the G250 at £110.00 and the D250 at £169.00. It is the only dual band unit in the range, combining Band 8 at 900 MHz for O2, Vodafone and EE 2G voice with Band 3 at 1800 MHz for EE and Three 4G LTE data, into a single Ofcom-legal, UKCA-certified box with an 8 dBi Yagi, a 5 dBi indoor panel, a 10 m low-loss N-type cable and a rated 25 simultaneous users.
The G250 at £110.00 is the right call only if you are a pure O2 or Vodafone voice customer on a tight budget. The D250 at £169.00 is the right call only if you are a pure EE customer. The C250 at £199.99 is the right call only if you need rural O2 or Vodafone 4G on Band 20. In every other scenario, the GD250 at £235.00 is the product that reaches every room and every network in your home.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the GD250 at £235 worth the £125 step up from the G250 at £110?
If you need 4G data or any support for EE or Three, yes. The G250 at £110 only boosts Band 8 at 900 MHz 2G voice on O2 and Vodafone. The GD250 at £235 adds Band 3 at 1800 MHz, which brings EE 4G, Three 4G and EE voice into the same box, plus an 8 dBi Yagi antenna and 25 simultaneous users. If your only problem is dropped O2 or Vodafone calls and your data is fine, the G250 saves you £125.
What is the difference between the GD250 and the D250 at £169?
The D250 at £169 is a single-band Band 3 at 1800 MHz booster for EE voice and EE 4G only, with 70 dB of gain. The GD250 at £235 adds Band 8 at 900 MHz on top, which brings O2 voice, Vodafone voice, giffgaff, Sky Mobile, Tesco Mobile, Lebara and Lycamobile into the same unit. It also upgrades the outdoor antenna to an 8 dBi Yagi and raises concurrent users to 25. The GD250 costs £66 more.
Why does the GD250 have lower gain than the G250 and D250?
The GD250 delivers 50 dB uplink and 55 dB downlink gain, while the G250 delivers 65 dB and the D250 delivers 70 dB. This is a deliberate trade-off of dual band design: running two independent RF chains, two duplex filters and two isolation stages in one enclosure caps the per-band gain. Coverage stays at 250 m² because the GD250 pairs the lower gain with an 8 dBi Yagi outdoor antenna and a 5 dBi indoor panel, which more than compensates.
Can the GD250 boost both EE 4G and O2 calls at the same time?
Yes. That is the entire point of the GD250. It simultaneously amplifies Band 3 at 1800 MHz for EE 4G LTE data and EE 2G voice, and Band 8 at 900 MHz for O2 and Vodafone 2G voice. In our Guildford mixed-network test house, one parent on EE ran a 4G video call while another parent on O2 took a voice call, with no degradation on either.
Does the GD250 support Three 4G?
Yes. Three broadcasts 4G LTE on Band 3 at 1800 MHz in most UK towns and cities, which is one of the two bands the GD250 amplifies. Three MVNOs including Smarty, iD Mobile and Freedom Pop also work on the GD250 Band 3 side. The G250 and D250 do not support Three at all.
How long does GD250 installation take?
Most customers install the GD250 themselves in 30 to 60 minutes. The kit includes the booster unit, an 8 dBi Yagi directional outdoor antenna, a 5 dBi indoor panel antenna, a 10 m low-loss N-type coaxial cable and a UK 3-pin power supply. You will need a drill, a ladder and a wall bracket. The Yagi must be pointed toward the correct cell tower, which is the one step that takes a little extra time.
What happens if my outdoor signal is only one bar?
The GD250 needs at least one bar of usable outdoor signal at the Yagi antenna on each band it is expected to boost. If Band 3 at 1800 MHz is too weak outdoors, the GD250 will still boost Band 8 voice but will not deliver usable 4G. In that scenario we recommend adding the optional high-gain Yagi antenna and a 20 m or 30 m cable extension to reach a better mounting point.
Can I use the GD250 in a small office with 10 staff?
Yes. The GD250 is rated for 25 simultaneous users across 250 m², which comfortably covers a small office of 8 to 12 staff. The G250 is voice-only and does not publish a concurrent-user figure. The D250 supports roughly 15 users. In our Reading office test, 10 staff ran a mix of EE 4G data sessions and O2 voice calls without any drop in quality.
Does the GD250 need an Ofcom licence?
No. The GD250 is Ofcom licence-exempt and carries UKCA and CE certification. It uses automatic gain control (AGC) to prevent oscillation and to avoid interfering with neighbouring cell towers. You do not need to apply for a frequency licence, pay an annual fee or notify your mobile operator. You install it, plug it in and it works.
Should I buy the GD250 or add a lightning surge protector?
If the 8 dBi Yagi is mounted on a chimney, above roofline or on an external wall exposed to storms, we recommend adding the optional 18 KA lightning surge protector. It installs inline between the Yagi and the 10 m N-type cable and protects the booster unit from induced surges. If the antenna is mounted inside a loft or on a low wall, the surge protector is optional rather than essential.
Learn More: Dual-Band Signal Guides
Best Dual-Band Signal Booster for 250 m² — UK Buyer's Guide
How to choose a Band 8 + Band 3 booster that covers all four UK operators across a three-to-five-bed house or small shop.
GD250 vs G250 vs D250 — One Dual-Band Unit or Two Single-Band Units?
Honest UK comparison of the £235 dual-band GD250 against buying the £110 G250 voice and £169 D250 EE units separately.
How to Improve Mobile Signal Across a 250 m² Home — UK Step by Step
Yagi aiming, 10 m N-type coax routing, antenna separation and DIY install for mixed-carrier households.
Band 8 + Band 3 (900/1800 MHz) Booster Explained — EE, O2, Vodafone, Three
Why O2/Vodafone get calls only, Three gets data only, and EE gets both — the UK dual-band carrier matrix.